FIDE World Blitz Chess Championship 2022 | Rounds 13-21

The 2022 World Blitz Championship is an elite over-the-board event featuring the best blitz chess players in the world. Masters and national champions from around the globe gather to compete in Swiss tournaments for their share of the $350,000 prize fund. The event runs from December 29 through 30..

Players compete in a 21-round Swiss.
The time control is 3+2
Players get 1 point for a win, 0.5 points for a draw, and 0 points for a loss.
The player with the most points at the end of the tournament becomes the World Blitz Champion.
A playoff match determines the winner if there’s a tie for first place.
In case there’s a tie for any other place, the following tiebreaks apply in order:
Buchholz cut 1
AROC cut 1
Direct encounter
Drawing of Lots
The event features a $350,000 prize fund, distributed as follows:

1st: $60,000
2nd: $50,000
3rd: $40,000
4th: $30,000
5th: $25,000
6th: $22,000
7th: $18,000
8th: $14,000
9th: $11,000
10th: $8,000
11th-16th: $5,000
17th-25th: $3,000
26th-35th: $1,500
Previous Champions
2012: Alexander Grischuk
2013: Le Quang Liem
2014: Magnus Carlsen
2015: Alexander Grischuk
2016: Sergey Karjakin
2017: Magnus Carlsen
2018: Magnus Carlsen
2019: Magnus Carlsen
2021: Maxime Vachier-Lagrave MERCH
Get your premium membership
Read latest chess articles
Start your chess training
Watch an instructive chess video
Store your favorite games
Test your chess vision
Practice endgames


  1. Magnus the greatest player ever in shorter time format, only because he is the one of the two greatest chess player in the world. it's completely unreal how he made it look easy 😆💯 for 12 consecutive years with 15 World Championship titles. No one comes close to Magsy in Faster time format or longer time format, while people stick to their comfort zones, Magnus conquers.

  2. Bhai kal ke giveaway ka kya hua Dart wala🥲

  3. we talk so much about men and it is the women who brought us both the medals.. would love to see more focus on the women 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *